Most Heartwarming Story Winner for Week Five of ‘Iams Home 4 the Holidays’

Time to warm up your heart! Here is this week’s ‘Most Heartwarming Story’ from Iams Home 4 the Holidays! Each Thursday Helen Woodward Animal Center announces the weekly winner of that week’s ‘Most Heartwarming Story’ from Iams Home 4 the Holidays! Animal welfare organizations from around the world are working together to find loving homes for 1.5 million orphaned animals this holiday season.

This week’s winner comes from Chicagoland Dog Rescue, located in Chicago, Illinois. Duke was abandoned by his family and was found in rough shape. How did he find a new forever family?

“Well, there I was, back in a rescue.

Earlier this year, I was first saved by Chicagoland Dog Rescue (CDR) and was adopted into a home shortly thereafter. Months went by when CDR received a call from my family and said that I was no longer wanted by them.

After that initial call, CDR tried to follow up and contact the family so they could come and get me, but no one responded. When someone from CDR went to my house to come get me, the family had moved away and I was nowhere to be found.

Everyone at rescue was frantically trying to find me with no luck. A few weeks later, local animal services contacted CDR to say they had me in their kennel.  A nice lady had called them to say I was sleeping on her porch every night, so they set a trap and one week later, I was found.  Fortunately, my microchip was still registered to CDR so they could find me, once again.

When I was picked up by CDR, they found me to be very, very skinny (you could see my ribs and hip bones), flea infested, had hookworm and worse yet… heartworm! Good news, though, the vet said I should recover with no problem.

I then went through heartworm treatment in a foster home for a month and a half and I did well. My foster mom said I was one of the sweetest dogs she had ever had in her home, very calm and gentle, but I could be shy. New people can scare me, until I know they won’t hurt me.  Once I know a person is okay, I will be by their side as much as they let me. New things scare me, too. Loud noises and anything I’ve never seen or experienced before…

But now I’m happy to report that I have been adopted by a very loving family. They recently lost their dog to cancer and their other dog from old age.

When I first met them, I kept walking over to them, and after about 20 minutes, was giving them kisses.  My foster mom knew these were special people.

A few days later, she took me to their house. After talking to them for about an hour, I fell asleep on the dining room floor.  Well, they thought I was asleep, but I heard foster mom say, “I think he’s home.”

She offered to take me back home with her until my new parents were ready for me, but they wanted to keep me beginning that night! I did make sure that my mom emailed her a photo with me in the couch the very next day.

Yep, I’m finally in my forever home.”

Thank you, Chicagoland Dog Rescue! Please take a moment and “like” them on Facebook!

Remember: each week we choose a heartwarming story and that organization or rescue will be in the running for a $500 prize at the end of the campaign!

If you are an animal welfare facility or rescue, you can join Iams Home 4 the Holidays, too! Click here to find more information.

One response to “Most Heartwarming Story Winner for Week Five of ‘Iams Home 4 the Holidays’

  1. Pingback: ‘Most Heartwarming Story’ Winner « Pause For Tails·

Leave a Reply

